Are roles safe or captivating?

How is your identity defined by your roles?

How is your identity defined by your roles?
c 2012 Kelly Babcock

There are many types of roles in our society. Just to name a few there is mother, parent, supporter, client, wounded one, heroic one, rescuer, emotional one, worker, boss etc. These roles give definition to who we are. We become more of the role we are in. This is all fine and well if you enjoy playing a certain role but isn’t it freeing and interesting to notice that it is possible to break free and take on a different role.

Sometimes we can’t break free because we are so well-known in the role we are part of. We feel safe in this role and we are sure that there would be an uproar if we tried on a different hat. Try going from sun hat to motorbike hat. It can be a change in character to try out a different role. Maybe we grew up with the sun hat… so it is easier to play that part. We know what that part entails. On the other hand the part of motor bike helmet is a hat we are not sure of so we don’t know how to act and can easily fall back to the sun hat role.  It must be noted however their can be great freedom in trying on a new role that is wildly different form previous roles.

Perhaps if family and friends were to expand on their own definition of what a role entails there would be more freedom within that role and therefore possibilities for exploration and happiness. Our identities can be bigger and encompass more aspects of the life we would like to lead. Perhaps that’s better than all of us switching roles so quickly.

At times roles evolve into newer roles. A parent becomes a grandparent. A worker becomes an employer. These changes follow the natural evolution found in our societies. We don’t tend to have as much trouble with these changes. On the other hand a change from married to single could be a little harder to take. The identity change is quite a lot bigger.

If you have trouble with being stuck in a role or if you have changed roles too fast you are not alone. Maybe if we just allow for variety there will be more of a chance for success. As the old saying goes, variety is the spice of life you know. Don’t let your role captivate you. Allow yourself the freedom to explore!

About friendofsnowflake

It is my pleasure to welcome you to my Blog! My name is Melanie and my nic-name Snowflake as you may already know. I'm excited to share some of my ideas and writings with you. It's interesting how psychological concepts can make things a little clearer. I have a psychology degree from the University of Waterloo. It is my hope that I can share some knowledge with you. Some of my hobbies include playing piano, guitar, drawing and more recently beading. It also really interesting to recieve comments from the amazing people who read my Blog. I hope if you feel inclined that you will tell me a bit about yourself. I would like to think that some special time spent off the net is also important for you or me. In this time you could sing or dance or just sit with a book. In the mean-time it's nice to have met you because there is some quality time spent on the net. I hope you have had time to look at your favourite song or look up your favourite author. My favorite song is True Colour by Cyndi Lauper and my favourite author is Gretchin Rubin. I feel gratitude that I can write this Blog. I hope you come back and see what new Blog is here over time. In the mean time have a great day and stay you!

Posted on June 20, 2012, in Balance, New Age Psychology, Relationships, Social Psychology Education and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Melanie this is very thought provoking as well as inspiring. Well presented. Thank you.

    • Nice to here from you mom. It is great to express my thoughts and feelings in writing and I am glad you are part of the audience. Thanks for your appreciative feedback. I hope you keep enjoying my writing,
      Melanie

Leave a Reply

Our Lady of the Red Thread

The Journal of Shiloh Sophia

Valley Road Rambler

life, love, loss, and a whole lotta soul

snowflakespirit

Just another WordPress.com site

Psychology Discussions

A topnotch WordPress.com site

