Getting Those Schizo Symptoms Under Control

There is the phenomenon of imagination and then with exaggeration you can come up with some wonderful stories and thoughts. Just what happens when these imaginings get ahead of you and you are in a whole big plot of spies and paranoia? Just what happens when the exaggerations makes your problems spin over and over in your head until even friends seem like enemies? Just what happens when your wonderful stories take on a life of their own and the characters start talking and the story seems bigger than you?

All of these schizo symptoms sadly have happened to me and friends of mine. There is hope though. They can be stopped with some good humour, a little change in perspective and smart use of metaphors.

The sunshine can make things better.

The sunshine makes the day feel better. –
© 2012 Kelly Babcock

Humour can tone down the frightening aspect of the thinking and can move people back into their own trusting selves. Especially humour that is the right kind, in the right place and in the right way. Really, if you’re upset, ask for a joke… sometimes even the stupid jokes are hilarious if you’re really needing a joke.

Some counsellors are excellent at helping you change perspectives. Instead of the story being so scary and big that you are thinking, they can actually help you see that it is only a symptom of the stress you feel. Once your stress level is reduced then your symptoms also become less.

Metaphors can also show you things. Maybe your artistic mind is trying to tell you something. If you keep seeing calling blue jays maybe you need to say something to someone that you haven’t said yet. If you keep seeing lizards maybe you need to lie in the sunshine. If you keep seeing kangaroos carrying little ones maybe you need to be around children. There is hope in looking at metaphors. After-all seeing something is a lot like a dream and dreams tells us a lot.

The other day I told a friend about a schizo symptom I had  for a number of years and never told anyone. It had to do with jewelry thieves. I decided to write a story about it to get it off my chest. I think I’m going to go do that now… Expressing artistically the symptoms that amuse, bother or annoy you is a great way of coping, dealing and healing your own spirit and soul. Sharing this with a friend makes it even better. Good luck!

About friendofsnowflake

It is my pleasure to welcome you to my Blog! My name is Melanie and my nic-name Snowflake as you may already know. I'm excited to share some of my ideas and writings with you. It's interesting how psychological concepts can make things a little clearer. I have a psychology degree from the University of Waterloo. It is my hope that I can share some knowledge with you. Some of my hobbies include playing piano, guitar, drawing and more recently beading. It also really interesting to recieve comments from the amazing people who read my Blog. I hope if you feel inclined that you will tell me a bit about yourself. I would like to think that some special time spent off the net is also important for you or me. In this time you could sing or dance or just sit with a book. In the mean-time it's nice to have met you because there is some quality time spent on the net. I hope you have had time to look at your favourite song or look up your favourite author. My favorite song is True Colour by Cyndi Lauper and my favourite author is Gretchin Rubin. I feel gratitude that I can write this Blog. I hope you come back and see what new Blog is here over time. In the mean time have a great day and stay you!

Posted on August 8, 2012, in Balance, Depression, anger and negativity, Emotions, Happiness, Self Esteem and Positivity, mental health, New Age Psychology and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Our Lady of the Red Thread

The Journal of Shiloh Sophia

Valley Road Rambler

life, love, loss, and a whole lotta soul

snowflakespirit

Just another WordPress.com site

Psychology Discussions

A topnotch WordPress.com site

