Getting Older

The road is a journey

The road is a journey – © 2012 Kelly Babcock

Is getting older the same as growing up. I think everyone gets older but who really grows up? Growing up would have to do with maturing, understanding, forgiving and maybe getting wiser. Getting older on the other hand might mean getting wrinkles, sore knees, a persistent cough and a feeling of having lived some of the best times.

Whether I am growing older or growing up I hope I can accept life as it affects me. I mean I hope that I can role with the signs of aging. Going with the flow is a lot healthier than fighting this natural progression.

One great thing about getting older is (the books say) that this is a time when the purpose you were meant to live out becomes a focus. Your contribution is important during these years. In other words each year we get older we are getting closer to the work of the spirit and soul. It is refreshing work and it feels so good to do it. If we didn’t have all those years behind us of work experiences we wouldn’t get to this good part in life where we really make a difference.

Growing up and growing older are part of life and when we can see that some good young ones are coming along after us it can make us feel more secure and confident. I know, I for one, am pleased when I see young ones working on the environment, or heading up charity events or sharing their genuine artistic callings.  This is a very special part of getting older.

Thinking about where you’ll be when you are really old is also part of this stage. What would it be like in a retirement home and would you have lots of aches and pains (I wonder)? Will I have some spunk left in me to be an interesting older person?

 I have worked with people of older ages and find them to be darling people…. a few complaints doesn’t matter that much. When I get even older I hope I’m like them, still willing to love and learn.

About friendofsnowflake

It is my pleasure to welcome you to my Blog! My name is Melanie and my nic-name Snowflake as you may already know. I'm excited to share some of my ideas and writings with you. It's interesting how psychological concepts can make things a little clearer. I have a psychology degree from the University of Waterloo. It is my hope that I can share some knowledge with you. Some of my hobbies include playing piano, guitar, drawing and more recently beading. It also really interesting to recieve comments from the amazing people who read my Blog. I hope if you feel inclined that you will tell me a bit about yourself. I would like to think that some special time spent off the net is also important for you or me. In this time you could sing or dance or just sit with a book. In the mean-time it's nice to have met you because there is some quality time spent on the net. I hope you have had time to look at your favourite song or look up your favourite author. My favorite song is True Colour by Cyndi Lauper and my favourite author is Gretchin Rubin. I feel gratitude that I can write this Blog. I hope you come back and see what new Blog is here over time. In the mean time have a great day and stay you!

Posted on August 20, 2012, in Balance, Emotions, Happiness, Self Esteem and Positivity, mental health, New Age Psychology, Relationships, Social Psychology Education and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Our Lady of the Red Thread

The Journal of Shiloh Sophia

Valley Road Rambler

life, love, loss, and a whole lotta soul

snowflakespirit

Just another WordPress.com site

Psychology Discussions

A topnotch WordPress.com site

