Intelligence Recognized

 

We are social creatures like penguins.

People are social creatures like penguins.

When I meet someone new sometimes I want them to know that my brain functions a little different from normal, in this day and age, you could almost say who’s doesn’t. But for me it’s a little more serious and it affects my life a little more.

A good friend was telling me about the following similar phenomenon that I had also encountered. After I tell a person about some mental health symptoms I have, both good and bad, it’s so nice to then be asked about my psychology degree, or my years working in organic restaurants, or about the books I have published. I suppose this shows us that we are recognized for the intelligence we have and not just the difficulties we face. I am happy to say that many people have done this with me. It is so pleasing to have a complex conversations about opinions, perspectives and planning for the future.

When I meet someone new sometimes it’s like I have to show the pretend scar that I carry around with me. This thing that if they really new about it they might choose not to be friends. This is embarrassing and although I’ve tried to get passed it, I still feel hurt by the mental health label I seem to wear. It is especially frustrating because there was a time when I thought it was more like a gift that people would admire. Wow a girl who talks to trees. What kind of environmentally philosophical messages would she hear? Well wasn’t I surprised to hear how ashamed and afraid a lot of  people are of hearing things…. hey it’s just like having a dream in the daytime, it’s not so strange.

I used to think that people who hear things were the balance for people with depression. If one told the other their strange stories and exuberant messages then the depression might lift and the person who heard things would have a much-needed audience. And then there is the concept that mental health differences are indeed meant to entertain I mean look what the movie industry has succeeded in doing with magical thinking. At the same time we all like to be taken seriously. I mean we all have value as human beings for our thoughts and just for being who we are.

So where have I come to? I think I will continue to try to paint better pictures of hearing things when people are willing to listen to me. There are many other things though, that capture my attention, and I hope to continue studying music and practicing good communication skills and learning about other interesting education opportunities.

About friendofsnowflake

It is my pleasure to welcome you to my Blog! My name is Melanie and my nic-name Snowflake as you may already know. I'm excited to share some of my ideas and writings with you. It's interesting how psychological concepts can make things a little clearer. I have a psychology degree from the University of Waterloo. It is my hope that I can share some knowledge with you. Some of my hobbies include playing piano, guitar, drawing and more recently beading. It also really interesting to recieve comments from the amazing people who read my Blog. I hope if you feel inclined that you will tell me a bit about yourself. I would like to think that some special time spent off the net is also important for you or me. In this time you could sing or dance or just sit with a book. In the mean-time it's nice to have met you because there is some quality time spent on the net. I hope you have had time to look at your favourite song or look up your favourite author. My favorite song is True Colour by Cyndi Lauper and my favourite author is Gretchin Rubin. I feel gratitude that I can write this Blog. I hope you come back and see what new Blog is here over time. In the mean time have a great day and stay you!

Posted on August 21, 2012, in Balance, Depression, anger and negativity, Emotions, Happiness, Self Esteem and Positivity, mental health, New Age Psychology, Relationships and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Our Lady of the Red Thread

The Journal of Shiloh Sophia

Valley Road Rambler

life, love, loss, and a whole lotta soul

snowflakespirit

Just another WordPress.com site

Psychology Discussions

A topnotch WordPress.com site

