There’s More to Music…Than You Think – Part 1

... and the nusic played on ...

… and the nusic played on …

If music hath charms to sooth the savage breast, play on. Although that’s a bit of a mix … what we mean is that music is such a universal in our world that many great words have been penned in its praise.

Every culture we know has developed music in some form or another and there must be a reason for its global acceptance. From the moods of Beethoven to the wildly expressive Janice Joplin, from its early percussive beginnings to current electronic generation, music has been dressing for many emotional wounds, has salved many a desparate soul. Listening, creating and performing music are all effective in returning us to our belief in valuing humanity and refortifying our inner reserves.

Views From A Pianist And Mental Health Survivor

The value of playing and listening to music is beyond words. It would take an enchanting tune to explain! Such a tune is the premise that an entire opera is based on. The Phantom of the Opera. Songs from this musical echo in my mind in calming and supportive ways. The charming Phantom, although frightening, admires Christine who is just a chorus girl. He turns out to be a musical genius and she has excellent singing abilities .The opera unfolds as the performers search for ways to save the music, the opera house and themselves. The Phantom is able to create such incredible songs that I find that I like him.

Music has a quality of persuasion. Although the Phantom can create intriguing music, I too can have an effect, the reduction of stigma, by sitting down at the piano to play. Not only do I love playing piano but the listeners also enjoy the music, especially the love songs. Respect for the expression of music is found everywhere.

Another mythical and creative character that believes in the value of music is the Archangel Gabriel. Gabriel’s horn signifies the Lord’s return but can’t be blown too soon as one explanation of Gabriel defines. I have been encouraged to befriend the angel Gabriel and to enjoy his love of the arts. Although evasive, I have found that this angel can help with healing music at the best of times and during the harder times too. Why would angels be interested in healing music? Because music can be an answer to so many prayers! Healing with music is a popular interest. Gabriel likely sings praises for the positive effects of music: reduction of pain, relaxation of muscles and calming of emotions.

Music can help mental illness as well. Music has the expressive ability to take over from the symptoms of illnesses like, schizophrenia, and replace hearing voices with the beauty of its melodies. The state of annoyance that any person suffers getting through a day of frustrations can be calmed by classical pieces of musical brilliance. The stresses from coping with schizophrenia and the annoyances of everyday life meet at this point and music can be a remedy for both situations. A shared coping skill once again shows how music is ‘the universal language’. Being aware of this similarity between people, no matter their background can be therapeutic because people see that we are all only human and we all have vulnerabilities.

I have found when dealing with symptoms that something as simple as taking back control of my situation by changing CD’s or changing channels on the radio may relieve that build up of stress from voices and bring me back to a more healthy place. Considering the options is also wonderful when there is such a variety of music to choose from . Isn’t it grand? The many forms of music. Not only is it enormously full of variety it also is performed by such a diversity of artists. This makes it easy for a person to find their personal preference of music. In my case, and many others, music enhances our well-being. Through music one can feel the unity in humanity while also maintaining individuality. The variety is enticing while, exercising choice on this assortment of music, is a great tool by being an activity that is empowering and therefore enhancing mental health.

When I create music I use my feelings to show the expression of that music. I’m not sure what to do with such feelings at other times yet I find a great outlet for them in playing piano and guitar. These feelings help me express different emotions including: longing, soul searching and heartfulness. To express feelings in a refined way is a great joy when they affect other people. It creates a positive experience when I can express piano music in such a way that others souls are touched by this music.
The therapeutic value of music will live on as we respect and cultivate our own tastes and preferences. Those that share their music give others a special gift. Expressing oneself through music has become an everyday miracle, one that is worthy of great praise. If it seems like I am complimenting music overly much, I have a reason. I feel a great gratitude for music. I’m honoured to share it.

Melanie Knapp
Look for part 2 of this post next Monday…
About friendofsnowflake

It is my pleasure to welcome you to my Blog! My name is Melanie and my nic-name Snowflake as you may already know. I'm excited to share some of my ideas and writings with you. It's interesting how psychological concepts can make things a little clearer. I have a psychology degree from the University of Waterloo. It is my hope that I can share some knowledge with you. Some of my hobbies include playing piano, guitar, drawing and more recently beading. It also really interesting to recieve comments from the amazing people who read my Blog. I hope if you feel inclined that you will tell me a bit about yourself. I would like to think that some special time spent off the net is also important for you or me. In this time you could sing or dance or just sit with a book. In the mean-time it's nice to have met you because there is some quality time spent on the net. I hope you have had time to look at your favourite song or look up your favourite author. My favorite song is True Colour by Cyndi Lauper and my favourite author is Gretchin Rubin. I feel gratitude that I can write this Blog. I hope you come back and see what new Blog is here over time. In the mean time have a great day and stay you!

Posted on November 12, 2012, in Balance, Emotions, Happiness, Self Esteem and Positivity, mental health, New Age Psychology, Out there, Relationships and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Our Lady of the Red Thread

The Journal of Shiloh Sophia

Valley Road Rambler

life, love, loss, and a whole lotta soul

snowflakespirit

Just another WordPress.com site

Psychology Discussions

A topnotch WordPress.com site

