New Year’s Resolutions – Part 2

©2010 Kelly Babcock

Celebrate the dance towards your goal
©2010 Kelly Babcock

In part 1 we discussed concepts that are fairly common for making successful resolutions. Some ideas were unique and may have caught your attention. In Part 2 we get deeper, bolder and smarter while still examining how resolutions are reached.

One Step closer

Resolutions affect us all in different ways. For some people, they come from a talk at a festive New years party, while for others, they are the focus on making some serious changes for the New Year. Don’t give up. We’ve just finished the first week of 2013. You’ve thought of a couple new resolutions or you have actually started following through. Push up your sleeves and tighten your shoe laces, it’s time to explore more about this phenomenon of achieving resolutions.

Recently I have had: excercise goals, cooking goals and musical goals. I don’t meet all my goals but I’m fairly advanced as a goal setter in some ways. One unusual goal I have had over the past year was to make fruit smoothies. From strawberries with mint leaves – to blueberries with yogurt. There are many different things you could set your heart on achieving. Resolutions are like goals, or in other words, like items on a bucket list, but when accomplished they have a healthy effect on your life.

Winning Isn’t Always Easy

When you are alone give yourself some time to think about previous accomplishments. What did you like about them and what would you change if you could? Enjoy some good memories. When I did this I started to remember a whole lot of successes that I had previously forgotten. When I  received first place in a grade 8 piano competition, I cried wondering if I really deserved it, but now I appreciate the positive attention. We can build on the past to achieve the successes of today. My piano playing is better today because of the recognition I received  in that competition.

Sometimes a resolution can be so important that it gives us motivation to succeed, to try hard and even give a purpose for life. If life is difficult, a goal can be the silver lining. I hope you see the silver linings for dark clouds you encounter. The storm doesn’t look so bad when the sun shines after it. There is a way to hope for the future even when it doesn’t look so bright.

Sometimes it’s time to take a goal one step further.  Give news about your goal to people. Let it feed their curiosity.  Tell them about your trials and tribulations and later about your triumphs and trophies. People need good news and your personal resolutions can have a fairly large audience. When you succeed it has a positive effect on your admirers. When you don’t quite make it, they may be able to help with consoling, and maybe even some humour.

Abracadabra

I like magic. I like the magic of a waning moon lighting up the sky. I like the magic of the call of a blue jay. I love the magic of the morning light cascading through the windows. These are all beautiful moments that I wouldn’t want you to miss because you became too goal driven. I hope you will be flexible and remember the balance of the being and the doing.

Someone once said, “we are not human doings, we are human beings.” Keep this in mind as you work on your resolutions and take time out to watch a ray of sunshine, or a cloud floating in the sky, or a new flower blooming.

When you are having a casual conversation with someone it can be really interesting to start talking about goals. It is great to start focusing on the things you are working on. It can motivate you and your friend to learn new things that will help you with your goals. A every day conversation can turn into a motivating inspirational talk and you can learn more about your friend as well.

Those were the days…

I worked at a camp one summer. I told the director that at fourteen I wasn’t too young. I kept with it and ten years later I was director of a local summer camp. This is something that can happen if, as my Uncle would say, you have your compass set on true North. I’m very proud of this and have a lot of exciting, wonder-filled and unique memories from playing soccer-baseball to attending fancy banquets, from early morning swims to camp-fires on star-lit nights.

Don’t give up on your abilities, even with limitations there are many things each of us can do. These ideas and opinions are hopefully inspiring. Let go of the advice that doesn’t work for you, and enjoy the parts that speak to you. Is it the right time to work on your resolutions?

About friendofsnowflake

It is my pleasure to welcome you to my Blog! My name is Melanie and my nic-name Snowflake as you may already know. I'm excited to share some of my ideas and writings with you. It's interesting how psychological concepts can make things a little clearer. I have a psychology degree from the University of Waterloo. It is my hope that I can share some knowledge with you. Some of my hobbies include playing piano, guitar, drawing and more recently beading. It also really interesting to recieve comments from the amazing people who read my Blog. I hope if you feel inclined that you will tell me a bit about yourself. I would like to think that some special time spent off the net is also important for you or me. In this time you could sing or dance or just sit with a book. In the mean-time it's nice to have met you because there is some quality time spent on the net. I hope you have had time to look at your favourite song or look up your favourite author. My favorite song is True Colour by Cyndi Lauper and my favourite author is Gretchin Rubin. I feel gratitude that I can write this Blog. I hope you come back and see what new Blog is here over time. In the mean time have a great day and stay you!

Posted on January 7, 2013, in Balance, Depression, anger and negativity, Emotions, Happiness, Self Esteem and Positivity, mental health, New Age Psychology, Out there. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Our Lady of the Red Thread

The Journal of Shiloh Sophia

Valley Road Rambler

life, love, loss, and a whole lotta soul

snowflakespirit

Just another WordPress.com site

Psychology Discussions

A topnotch WordPress.com site

