Feel the Connection – Youth and Adults Part II

Remember the silver lining.

Remember the silver lining.

This is Part II of a blog regarding a Canadian Mental Health Association program called, Lets Talk, which I worked on with coordinator Jackie Ralph in the high schools. We attempted to educate about mental health. We taught about ways to meet stress face to face by embracing relaxation and rejuvenation.

In part I, I displayed the reasons for such a program. I further discussed some of the reasons that teens feel extra stress. These reasons for their stress touched my heart and made me realize that young people care a great deal!

In part II, I share more of my personal involvement with the program.

Honesty, Authenticity and Sharing…

For myself I found that I had to set boundaries. I could deal with the emotions from an issue for only so long then I had to let it go and move on. I had to come to terms with the fact that there are some pretty great things happening in my life even during rough times and I don’t need to  deal with my mental health condition all the time.

The youth enjoyed my favourite and inspirational song. It was the theme song  from Flash Dance, ‘What A Feeling’. This song made me feel like I could take a small amount of health and grow it into a greater amount of health.  I could go from a state of illness to a state of greater wellness with this guidance. The song was special to me as it showed a woman beat the odds with her dancing talent. Although I don’t dance I do have other talents that I continue to work on.

I have learned to cope better and during good times I sometimes enjoy seeking out new experiences and new friends.  I like touching others through my poetry. It is interesting to show others how much I feel at times. I am proud of my ability to share the things I believe in!

I tried to pass on some of my optimism to the youth. I tried to show them that they have choices and have wonderful opportunities as teenagers. I tried to get them to volunteer somewhere or join a group or team. That kind of experience was pretty important in my life. I felt that the teenagers I interacted with left with more open-ness to mental illness and more ideas to support each other in day-to-day life.

Stress Relief Can Mean Recreation…

I left the ‘Let’s Talk’ program and felt I had to have some time to have fun myself. This was a new interesting goal for myself and before you know it I was bowling and ice skating. I really enjoyed this new freedom and found that recreation was a new healing avenue.

I think I took on a major problem of society, that the different age groups, teens and adults, don’t join each other to make community often enough. Youth can feel left behind, but I realize they have role models, teachers, parents, peers and friends. There is often someone they can talk their stresses over with.I also feel the that the teens taught me some things. The heavy subject matter led me to leave the program for awhile and learn some new abilities to cope with my own feelings and worries. It is inspiring to look back and share some of the knowledge gained.

I wanted to let this community know about our visits with the youth in high schools, about the Lets Talk program, so that we would have more open communication about valuable information regarding our young people. I was also inspired to write about this when I read about a youth conference coming up, unleashthenoise. I think adults need to recognize that youth are part of their community. Starting out with some open communication can help. I was pleasantly surprised with how much my young friends cared! I hope this gives you some idea of what we learned from the Let’s Talk program. Will you offer some  of your experience and support to the youth of today?

About friendofsnowflake

It is my pleasure to welcome you to my Blog! My name is Melanie and my nic-name Snowflake as you may already know. I'm excited to share some of my ideas and writings with you. It's interesting how psychological concepts can make things a little clearer. I have a psychology degree from the University of Waterloo. It is my hope that I can share some knowledge with you. Some of my hobbies include playing piano, guitar, drawing and more recently beading. It also really interesting to recieve comments from the amazing people who read my Blog. I hope if you feel inclined that you will tell me a bit about yourself. I would like to think that some special time spent off the net is also important for you or me. In this time you could sing or dance or just sit with a book. In the mean-time it's nice to have met you because there is some quality time spent on the net. I hope you have had time to look at your favourite song or look up your favourite author. My favorite song is True Colour by Cyndi Lauper and my favourite author is Gretchin Rubin. I feel gratitude that I can write this Blog. I hope you come back and see what new Blog is here over time. In the mean time have a great day and stay you!

Posted on January 28, 2013, in Balance, Depression, anger and negativity, Emotions, goal setting, Happiness, Self Esteem and Positivity, mental health, mental illness, New Age Psychology, Relationships, schizophrenia, Social Psychology Education, youth and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Our Lady of the Red Thread

The Journal of Shiloh Sophia

Valley Road Rambler

life, love, loss, and a whole lotta soul

snowflakespirit

Just another WordPress.com site

Psychology Discussions

A topnotch WordPress.com site

