Pros and Cons of Affirmations!

I think healthy thoughts every day

I think healthy thoughts every day

Pain and Pleasure

Affirmations aren’t talked about as much these days. Don’t you think affirmations are still a good idea! Instead of focusing on problems look towards the positive statement that can guide you towards a happier future.  I am getting happier with every sentence I write. Okay that might be taking it a bit far. Honestly, we have to be careful with our reprogramming of our beliefs and emotions. In some ways we may feel more confident and have less psychological and emotional pain. Let’s remember though that pain and pleasure rely on eachother. I for one wouldn’t want to have less pleasure in my life so maybe I have to face a bit of pain and tough it out.

There is more to affirmations than meets the eye!

People have worked with affirmations and I haven’t come across many results of this kind of support. I think there needs to be more work done looking into the effects on our long term health when doing affirmations. Could it be that we develope a rebel part of ourselves if we push ourselves too hard with the positive? Maybe we expect too much at times or we get caught up in what others should be affirming. There is more to affirmations than meets the eye.

Medications are widely used. Some are toxic for our livers. This makes it important to come up with different ways of addressing wellness. I’m one that has had a hard time taking medications. I’ve taken herbal supplements, Bach Flower remedies, vitamins, homeopathic solutions and special teas. At times I have recieved the beneficial support of these more natural helpers. Just yesterday a worker suggested I take a tylenol for a headache. I still forget about the benefit of more usual medications at times. I took the pill and felt much better.

There are limits you know

I have, however, taken things pretty far with my alternative health care. I’ve had to learn, instead,  to use a lot of firm limits with my natural helpers. Just one helpful health product – thank you! I’ve matured so that I just accept a bit of help at a time. I don’t have the money for six supplements, nor do I have the stomach to digest them. As I said just a little at a time helps. My body then doesn’t get as mixed up and I can feel the healing benefits.

Now where am I? Am I not talking about affirmations! Using the affirmations when I’m having trouble with happy thoughts might help. Affirmations might be like a bandaid to help the negativity which I feel at times disapate . But thoughts are more complex than just affirmations. We work through things we see and take part in. We process our own experience.

The joy of past experience

Also, growing up, I had many experiences with my family and teachers that I could learn from. Isn’t it important to appreciate the part of me that learned all of these things and not reprogram too often.  I want to thank this person who I am that learned with every new grade completed to advance in her education and learnings. I don’t want to change who I am by reprogramming myself.

I think I’ll use balance with my affirmations and enjoy the good memories of learning new things through experience.

About friendofsnowflake

It is my pleasure to welcome you to my Blog! My name is Melanie and my nic-name Snowflake as you may already know. I'm excited to share some of my ideas and writings with you. It's interesting how psychological concepts can make things a little clearer. I have a psychology degree from the University of Waterloo. It is my hope that I can share some knowledge with you. Some of my hobbies include playing piano, guitar, drawing and more recently beading. It also really interesting to recieve comments from the amazing people who read my Blog. I hope if you feel inclined that you will tell me a bit about yourself. I would like to think that some special time spent off the net is also important for you or me. In this time you could sing or dance or just sit with a book. In the mean-time it's nice to have met you because there is some quality time spent on the net. I hope you have had time to look at your favourite song or look up your favourite author. My favorite song is True Colour by Cyndi Lauper and my favourite author is Gretchin Rubin. I feel gratitude that I can write this Blog. I hope you come back and see what new Blog is here over time. In the mean time have a great day and stay you!

Posted on February 4, 2013, in Balance, goal setting, Happiness, Self Esteem and Positivity, mental health, mental illness, New Age Psychology, schizophrenia. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Our Lady of the Red Thread

The Journal of Shiloh Sophia

Valley Road Rambler

life, love, loss, and a whole lotta soul

snowflakespirit

Just another WordPress.com site

Psychology Discussions

A topnotch WordPress.com site

