Beginnings and Endings With Friends

Letting Go ...

Giving space is a gift for a friend!

How do I begin to tell you how important this subject is. In the end it matters how we begin and how we end friendships. We also are only human and we learn along the way. So, friends from the past forgive me for how I ended things. I would choose to do things differently in the future. Friends from the future, I’m  looking forward to sharing creatively and emotionally. I like making new friends.

Changes in Friendships

One friend and I were very close, even best friends. It was nice to have some one so complimentary and full of energy in my life. She helped me get a job and gave me credit for some of the nice things I did that people didn’t see. When things were winding down and our friendship was ending, it hurt a lot. Later though when the break wasn’t so fresh we talked again and complimented one another again and agreed to stay in touch but not be best friends. I am proud of the way we did this!

Another friend had a lot on her plate. When I had to deal with some of my own issues it felt like too much of a hardship to  stay in touch with her. I conversed with her and told her I observed that we were dealing with our own issues from our own lives and that was okay with me. Lately we’ve been in touch again and it’s nice to see her again and hear about the way she faced some issues, although again, we are not as close as before.

Mistakes in Friendships

When I was younger I felt that people were leaning on me too hard. A lot of people were telling me their troubles. I had trouble catching my breath so I stopped many friendships perhaps at a time when I could have stayed in touch. I could have given them a chance or gotten help to assist me with my communication of the pain I sensed.  This makes me sad. My University friends became my friends that I left behind. Lately I’ve been in touch with some of them… the hurt is still there from the harsh goodbyes, but, I can also feel the love, admiration and encouragement.

Rejuvenating Friendships

New beginnings can happen with the same people you say goodbye to. It can mean new enthusiasm in a relationship by being attentive to the achievements of the other. A  lot my friends try really hard to be healthy. It’s great when we achieve some success in the area of health. I like to encourage my friends and point out their successes.

We can refresh our friendships with things like the Cat Stevens concert DVD that I got for two dollars from the Good Will store and watched cuddled up with my boyfriend. It was so much fun to sing along with.  Doing something like this gives more warmth to existing friendships. Along the same line, some friends give little presents to me each time I see them. This helps me to feel special and excited. One friend and I exchanged stockings filled to the brim one Christmas. That was exciting and is a fond friendship memory! I also like to break bread with my friends and enjoy healthy recipes with good people.

It’s all Part of the Journey

Beginnings and endings are part of life. I think that gentler communication for both of these concepts can lead to healthier mental health and increased optimism. I like to have new people come into my life. I also like to have changes in friendships that give me space to breathe and room to grow. Friendship is like a new green shoot growing in a pot, you never know when it’s going to shoot up quickly and produce flowers or when it might get so big you have to re-pot it.

My friends have given me many flowers through the gifts and positive qualities that they share. This is a great source of flower power! The reflections of how honest and caring I have become are seen, better than ever, through the eyes of friends. Thank you friends.

About friendofsnowflake

It is my pleasure to welcome you to my Blog! My name is Melanie and my nic-name Snowflake as you may already know. I'm excited to share some of my ideas and writings with you. It's interesting how psychological concepts can make things a little clearer. I have a psychology degree from the University of Waterloo. It is my hope that I can share some knowledge with you. Some of my hobbies include playing piano, guitar, drawing and more recently beading. It also really interesting to recieve comments from the amazing people who read my Blog. I hope if you feel inclined that you will tell me a bit about yourself. I would like to think that some special time spent off the net is also important for you or me. In this time you could sing or dance or just sit with a book. In the mean-time it's nice to have met you because there is some quality time spent on the net. I hope you have had time to look at your favourite song or look up your favourite author. My favorite song is True Colour by Cyndi Lauper and my favourite author is Gretchin Rubin. I feel gratitude that I can write this Blog. I hope you come back and see what new Blog is here over time. In the mean time have a great day and stay you!

Posted on February 18, 2013, in Balance, Emotions, Happiness, Self Esteem and Positivity, mental health, New Age Psychology, Relationships and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Our Lady of the Red Thread

The Journal of Shiloh Sophia

Valley Road Rambler

life, love, loss, and a whole lotta soul

snowflakespirit

Just another WordPress.com site

Psychology Discussions

A topnotch WordPress.com site

