Looking Back on My Own Teenage Years

As a teenager, I forged out on my own with some of my activities. Involvement with other activities were influenced by friends, parents and teachers.But what helped me to be a young person that was successful? My parents helped me learn about the themes in my life that would be important. The variety of exciting activities I took part in as a teen help me be the person I am today. Finally, private time with quiet activities was also significant for me. Learning about my purpose, active activities and quiet activities created a meaningful experience in my youth.

What became my meaningful life themes?

Seeing my parents care about things gave me passion for offering a helping heart. I believe it is important for teens to have adults in their lives. My parents played a role in my life in my teenage years. They offered good mentoring and role modelling. This helped me know what I wanted to do in my life.

Admiring and helping the environment, and personal development, were both areas that I observed to be important for my parents. Maybe part of the reason I came into the world in the place that I did was to learn these same themes. As a result I like to learn and teach others about the environment and personal growth through creative activities.

What made it fun to be young?

Options available to teens help them create an identity and make good friends. Thinking back to when I was a teen helps me to relate to teens today. When I was a teen their were many things I enjoyed being part of. I loved youth conferences like Toc Alpha  run by other youth. It was fun to be on the badminton team. I was a stage-hand for the theatre production Charlie’s Aunt. I ran for student council three times before I got in as vice-president and helped organize a talent show and a spirit week. I volunteered at the hospital to give water to patients and sit and talk to them. I played piano and won first place in my final year of highschool.

I did other things too, but over time I started to find out what things I was good at and what things didn’t work so well for me. I’m glad I had the opportunity to do these things in highschool. It helped me make my way to a more successful adulthood and gave me something to stand on when facing a mental illness. I had to learn that rest is important too. It’s something I now pass on to others. Don’t underestimate the importance of rest and relaxation to balance achievements and successes.

What was the balance I needed?

I think teens need more rest than most other age groups. They are physically growing so much and a lot of this happens in their sleep. I found that in my teen years I closed my door and read books quite often. This helped with my sense of who I was and the feeling that I needed to have my personal times just for me. I like having times just for me. I like reading and writing in journals. It is easier to learn soft skills like this when we are young then when we are older. They seem more comfortable, they nourish the people we become after we are teens. They help us become the people who can make our own choices, can build our own self esteem and can pick our own friends.

I’ve decided that my work with teenagers isn’t done and my work with adults is nowhere near finished. And my work on myself? Now that, for sure, isn’t over yet. So this chance to explore my insights into this important age group is important to me. I will leave what doesn’t make sense on the page and take time to reflect on the rest, I invite you to do the same. If I had a wish, I would wish that adults and teens would connect more often. I wish I may I wish I might on that first star I see tonight…

About friendofsnowflake

It is my pleasure to welcome you to my Blog! My name is Melanie and my nic-name Snowflake as you may already know. I'm excited to share some of my ideas and writings with you. It's interesting how psychological concepts can make things a little clearer. I have a psychology degree from the University of Waterloo. It is my hope that I can share some knowledge with you. Some of my hobbies include playing piano, guitar, drawing and more recently beading. It also really interesting to recieve comments from the amazing people who read my Blog. I hope if you feel inclined that you will tell me a bit about yourself. I would like to think that some special time spent off the net is also important for you or me. In this time you could sing or dance or just sit with a book. In the mean-time it's nice to have met you because there is some quality time spent on the net. I hope you have had time to look at your favourite song or look up your favourite author. My favorite song is True Colour by Cyndi Lauper and my favourite author is Gretchin Rubin. I feel gratitude that I can write this Blog. I hope you come back and see what new Blog is here over time. In the mean time have a great day and stay you!

Posted on March 18, 2013, in Balance, friendship, goal setting, Happiness, Self Esteem and Positivity, mental health, mental illness, New Age Psychology, teens, young people, youth and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Our Lady of the Red Thread

The Journal of Shiloh Sophia

Valley Road Rambler

life, love, loss, and a whole lotta soul

snowflakespirit

Just another WordPress.com site

Psychology Discussions

A topnotch WordPress.com site

