Finding Health On Earth Day, 2013

 Nature Lover!

Nature Lover!

This past weekend was earth hour where people used less electricity. People became more aware, even for just a short time, of our impact on the earth. I love the conversation around earth hour about the way it is a magical time.  Earth day is coming up on April 22nd. It is another special day to think of the earth and the way you relate to it.

Consider celebrating it in your own way but here are some suggestions. Write a special poem for a friend or write a letter to the editor about your impression of the environment. Do some picking up of litter or start using a composter. Prune or re-pot some plants. Whatever you decide, be sure to: reduce, reuse and recycle.

The earth provides for people!

You have the choice to learn about the things you like in nature. What is your favourite thing to do when you are outside? What is your favourite thing to think about when you want to have quiet time in nature? I like picking up a rock that has little shimmering crystals in it. I hold it to my heart. I feel quiet and thankful.  I also like picking up a little flower and placing it on a stone as a small gift.

The fresh air is important to people. It is good for people of many ages and many types. People with disabilities find the earth to be good at giving support and energy. I know because I have felt the earth’s strengthening when I have felt weak. Seniors also like to walk slowly in parks, and mothers and fathers like to walk their babies in strollers. It’s not all about hard core athletics or nature sports sometimes it’s just a case of getting outside when it is gentle out.

Animals might need our help!

This time of year birds return, nests are built and buds come out on trees. Bird-seed could keep the birds fed.  We don’t want the birds  to go hungry as they prepare their songs for this season. Animals may need your abilities to think quick as you give them room to cross roads and pathways. They are searching for homes and mates. Animals are more common now a days as they are awakened from the sleepy but cold winter and others return from the South. Hurt animals could use a little tender loving care and time and space to heal. Get your camera ready and watch for animal sightings as the energy changes. Tell your friends and family about the creatures you spot. Once you’re on the look out, who knows what you may find: a porcupine, several deer or a mouse. It’s exciting to see a variety of animals.

The weather  is magic!

There are soft beautiful winds at times and at other times there is a mellow dreamy sky. All these types of weather are good for the more fragile among us to embrace their outdoor spirits. On the other hand when the wind is blowing fiercely and the rain is coming down, we can appreciate the outdoors from our cozy homes. It’s not all predictable, especially these days. Nature sure does surprise us!

It is my hope that this post will encourage you to step outside and look around, even if it is difficult for you to do this. Don’t forget this up and coming earth day and spread the word around to more people that earth day is April 22, 2013. It is a day to celebrate! We are here together on the earth. Do you feel fortunate to have such a beautiful earth?

About friendofsnowflake

It is my pleasure to welcome you to my Blog! My name is Melanie and my nic-name Snowflake as you may already know. I'm excited to share some of my ideas and writings with you. It's interesting how psychological concepts can make things a little clearer. I have a psychology degree from the University of Waterloo. It is my hope that I can share some knowledge with you. Some of my hobbies include playing piano, guitar, drawing and more recently beading. It also really interesting to recieve comments from the amazing people who read my Blog. I hope if you feel inclined that you will tell me a bit about yourself. I would like to think that some special time spent off the net is also important for you or me. In this time you could sing or dance or just sit with a book. In the mean-time it's nice to have met you because there is some quality time spent on the net. I hope you have had time to look at your favourite song or look up your favourite author. My favorite song is True Colour by Cyndi Lauper and my favourite author is Gretchin Rubin. I feel gratitude that I can write this Blog. I hope you come back and see what new Blog is here over time. In the mean time have a great day and stay you!

Posted on March 25, 2013, in Balance, friendship, Happiness, Self Esteem and Positivity, mental health, New Age Psychology, Social Psychology Education, youth and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Our Lady of the Red Thread

The Journal of Shiloh Sophia

Valley Road Rambler

life, love, loss, and a whole lotta soul

snowflakespirit

Just another WordPress.com site

Psychology Discussions

A topnotch WordPress.com site

