Enough of Decluttering; Use What you Have – (bonus post for April)

There are great works of literature helping us to discover how we can best declutter. We can have less. We can simplify. We can give our things to others in need. Basically we can live in an easier way with less stuff around us.  Okay. After we’ve done this it can seem a little desolate, a little empty, a little barren.

Flowers Grow and People Do Too

Flowers Grow and People Do Too

The next step for me is to use what I already have. I purchased those hobbies, crafts, pictures for a reaon.  That calligraphy pen wants some ink and a reason to be so bright. That collection of boxes can have a purpose. I WANT TO USE WHAT I HAVE, REGULARLY AND OFTEN.

How do we use what we have?

Well there are ways of doing this. We can pick something new each day to use. Read it, play with it, put it on…. do something with it. Don’t expect to like all the things you have but some things may surprise you and give you much joy. When I make a necklace I feel just great!

Give yourself permission to take a short time with these objects you have kept. This might mean reading for five minutes or making one necklace or reading one article in a magazine. This may help you to change the mood in your room from negative and stifled to entertaining and positive.

How can we use art on the walls?

Take time each day to admire the art you have. You might find you don’t like some of it anymore but you might find that you absolutely love some of it. I have a dancing couple up on my wall and they make me laugh and smile but sometimes I cover them when I don’t want to see them. Usually I like to imagine they are dancing at some grand awards ceremony. Sometimes I even imagine that I’m dancing with them.  Day dreaming about your art can help you to relax and rejuvinate.

You can also do art. You can get out your scrap pieces of paper that are probably buried somewhere in your home and you can use any one of a number of tools to draw with. Just let yourself doodle or even scribble. Just do something. It’s amazing the amount of energy one small doodle can give us. It’s fun and it can be funny too.

Put things away?

Sometimes I think we don’t use things because we’re ready to put them away before we even start. This can be difficult. You don’t want to mess things up. You don’t want to misplace things. And most of all you want to stay organized. So keep cleaning up after yourself, but not until you are finished using your things. Have a good time making a mess and then clean up. Leave things neat and give your things a place to sit when they are not used, a place that makes sense so that you can find them again when you need them.

Feeling Inspired!

I hope you are inspired to try and use some of the things you’ve collected. Whatever you do it’s good enough. You’ve collected these things for a reason. Sometimes we learn in our quiet time whether we are knitting or making clay sculptures there is growth in the doing part of the hobbies we admire.

So… listen to a CD you haven’t heard in awhile. Change the books around on your bookshelf. Wear that forgotten pair of earrings. I wonder if using these things you’ve collected will make you happier when you use them?

About friendofsnowflake

It is my pleasure to welcome you to my Blog! My name is Melanie and my nic-name Snowflake as you may already know. I'm excited to share some of my ideas and writings with you. It's interesting how psychological concepts can make things a little clearer. I have a psychology degree from the University of Waterloo. It is my hope that I can share some knowledge with you. Some of my hobbies include playing piano, guitar, drawing and more recently beading. It also really interesting to recieve comments from the amazing people who read my Blog. I hope if you feel inclined that you will tell me a bit about yourself. I would like to think that some special time spent off the net is also important for you or me. In this time you could sing or dance or just sit with a book. In the mean-time it's nice to have met you because there is some quality time spent on the net. I hope you have had time to look at your favourite song or look up your favourite author. My favorite song is True Colour by Cyndi Lauper and my favourite author is Gretchin Rubin. I feel gratitude that I can write this Blog. I hope you come back and see what new Blog is here over time. In the mean time have a great day and stay you!

Posted on April 25, 2013, in Balance, goal setting, mental illness, New Age Psychology, Out there and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Our Lady of the Red Thread

The Journal of Shiloh Sophia

Valley Road Rambler

life, love, loss, and a whole lotta soul

snowflakespirit

Just another WordPress.com site

Psychology Discussions

A topnotch WordPress.com site

