Her Stories

©2010 Kelly Babcock

©2010 Kelly Babcock

We were up there, back stage, waiting for our turn to perform, repeating lines, mouthing words, going over and over our monolouges. Nervous anticipation wasn’t all that was in the air but a kind of magic that only comes on that final night when the audience is full and is with us as we presented our stories.

What is Her Stories?

Her Stories is real women in the community telling stories that go a little deeper than just casual conversation. These women tell their secrets and share their pain. By sharing their pain they are expressing some of their difficulties and putting words to experiences. By saying these hardships out loud they are releasing themselves from the turmoil of keeping things inside.

The stories are received with support, friendship and amazement. Not only are we all glad each of us has gotten through difficult times, we also admire that each of us has learned; some of us have forgiven, some of us have sought justice, and others have found the love we were always looking for.

What helps people get through difficulties?

We are glad for the good stories, for the times we have been listened to, for the ways we have been encouraged to build ourselves back up again, for that one person who showed us that we are valued. Many of us have worked with affirmations, self-help books and discovery activities. Most of us have learned to take care of ourselves and have been learning to let more of the good relationships into our lives.

I may fall down, but I get back up again… It may be just a stumble and I may get a little dusty but when I get up again it doesn’t take long for me to find my way again. It seems I am settling into this person that is me and finding the things that I can teach and learn. It’s exciting, it’s invigorating and I love that I’m feeling more and more alligned with my purpose.

How can a story help things get better?

The hard times are still hard, but I know good times, I know what to work towards. Like making that special soup recipe, walking with the warm wind on my face or watching animals as they scurry around. My special times are different than other peoples, but I’m getting to know what they  are. I like the quality that helps me enjoy special times.

Working with a story helps things to flow, brings things together in a package  with a beginning, middle and end. It makes things organized, neat instead of messy feelings and experiences. The story helps me be proud, helps me look at where I am and how I travel around in circles. When I make it to the end I can recognize that, and reflect in that place for a while before returning to some of the earlier stages.

A story also appeals to the creative child in me as well as the creative adult. I am happy with the way the story was built on poems and if I am asked I could elaborate and tell stories within that story. It appeals to me to work things through because I’m part of a wonderful story that people have enjoyed listening to. I count, I matter. This feels good.

What about the performance?

In the wings, on stage, time to tell the story and I recite four poems. One poem is about annoyances; mainly thoughts that get in the way of my work. The next, where I move to a new place on stage, metaphorically moving to a new space, is called Encouragement. It talks to the way I have been encouraged to keep at my creativity, to share and to keep going despite the effort. Next is a poem called, In This Time of Difficulty, this is where I talk of myself and others. I am serious and I speak to that vulnerable part of us that feels emotions when people we know are hurt. The final  poem is called, The Successful One, and it is important because those successful times come about as I know myself better and share more. This is a time to celebrate myself.

I speak my story excitedly and feel that I come through some grand hallway of special effects, laughter, love and soul-searching as I walk off stage. I am a better person for this opportunity and I am glad to have shared.

The others also share and I learn about not struggling alone and how others have overcome difficulties. I am happy to be part of this process, this way of speaking our experiences because they help make us who we are. By boosting one another up we are showing that we care about ourselves and others. What a grand opportunity. Thanks for reading and somehow sharing a bit in the special way Her Stories is able to reach out to people and affect us. Will you value yourself just a little bit more? I know I will.

About friendofsnowflake

It is my pleasure to welcome you to my Blog! My name is Melanie and my nic-name Snowflake as you may already know. I'm excited to share some of my ideas and writings with you. It's interesting how psychological concepts can make things a little clearer. I have a psychology degree from the University of Waterloo. It is my hope that I can share some knowledge with you. Some of my hobbies include playing piano, guitar, drawing and more recently beading. It also really interesting to recieve comments from the amazing people who read my Blog. I hope if you feel inclined that you will tell me a bit about yourself. I would like to think that some special time spent off the net is also important for you or me. In this time you could sing or dance or just sit with a book. In the mean-time it's nice to have met you because there is some quality time spent on the net. I hope you have had time to look at your favourite song or look up your favourite author. My favorite song is True Colour by Cyndi Lauper and my favourite author is Gretchin Rubin. I feel gratitude that I can write this Blog. I hope you come back and see what new Blog is here over time. In the mean time have a great day and stay you!

Posted on May 6, 2013, in Balance, Depression, anger and negativity, Emotions, friendship, mental health, New Age Psychology and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Our Lady of the Red Thread

The Journal of Shiloh Sophia

Valley Road Rambler

life, love, loss, and a whole lotta soul

snowflakespirit

Just another WordPress.com site

Psychology Discussions

A topnotch WordPress.com site

