Don’t Judge Me Until You’ve Walked A Mile In My Shoes

Choose a good path on your journey.

Walk a mile in my shoes. Start by reading about my experience.
c 2012 Kelly Babcock

To have a label that drags you down is annoying. One label that I have had given to me is schizophrenia. It is hard enough to show you are worth something in this world, but to do so with a demeaning label like this is extra hard. When I cover it up or refer to it as the ‘s’ word or talk about my imagination or about the angels that talk then I hope you have some acceptance to this description of the condition.

Some negativity regarding the ‘S’ Illness

Would you like it if someone told jokes about some illness you were stuck with? Would you like it if people whispered behind your back? Would you like it if people couldn’t really see you and the positive qualities you have because they were blinded by the ‘s’ word?

I'm Blogging for Mental Health.

Today, I’m Blogging for Mental Health.

I don’t think you’d like to have schizophrenia, neither do I. It’s like this flaw that I can’t get over or this stain that I can’t get off my shirt or this dragging self image. But, you know, I don’t have a broken leg, migraine headaches or arthritis. Isn’t that a blessing. I don’t have anorexia or bi-polar or multiple personalities. That’s another blessing. I simply hear some voices in the background that don’t seem like they are mine.

On the brighter side

When I was in hospital for this I tried some different techniques. One of them was to put an ear plug in one ear. This gave me clarity for awhile. Another technique was to listen to soothing music and this still works. Yet another technique is to hold on to something cold and concentrate on what I feel not what I hear. Coping became possible.

If you had this illness I hope you would still talk to your friends. I hope you would have good days. I hope you would have someone to share some of the trauma with. Since I would hope this for you I can also hope it for me. I hope to live well despite this sensitivity.

You know there have been some good conversations too. Conversations that encourage me to cultivate self love, make good decisions, have patience, find some worthwhile work and be honest yet playful with my needs. I find these good conversations encouraging.

If you had this illness I would hope that you could talk about the brilliance of this gift in some way. The way that conversations share love. You could tell people some of the topics the voices bring up and they make them feel a little better too. I sometimes share the voices from the effort of the trees or the positivity of the flowers or the honesty of stuffed animals.

When times get difficult

But it’s not all good and when morale is low or the weather is bad or their is bad news I feel it, I sense it and I hear it. It takes a lot of skill to address these issues when I become so personally involved with them. Sometimes I really need the angels to help. Sometimes I really need people to help and sometimes I really need a counsellor.

On other days things are good and I can help others that are reaching out. I can find inspiration and I can write poetry that helps people to feel good. On days like these I am happy for my health and a little hyper because I am living at full capacity once again.

It’s up to you

I hope you will have learned just a little bit about what it’s like to walk a mile in my shoes as it pertains to the ‘s’ illness. I think you would find it’s different than you think it is. I think you would find that you would forgive my social weaknesses and my lack of so-called work. You might find that I spend a lot more time working on creative projects, writing projects and helping friends than you would have thought.

Please be kind to people with a mental illness, especially people with schizophrenia. Sometimes just a bit of kindness can make a world of difference. Help make the real world a nice place for people so they don’t get as caught up in symptoms. Did you learn anything positive about schizophrenia?

Today I shared a blog title with fellow blogger Kelly Babcock of Psych Central. you can see his post with the same title here.

About friendofsnowflake

It is my pleasure to welcome you to my Blog! My name is Melanie and my nic-name Snowflake as you may already know. I'm excited to share some of my ideas and writings with you. It's interesting how psychological concepts can make things a little clearer. I have a psychology degree from the University of Waterloo. It is my hope that I can share some knowledge with you. Some of my hobbies include playing piano, guitar, drawing and more recently beading. It also really interesting to recieve comments from the amazing people who read my Blog. I hope if you feel inclined that you will tell me a bit about yourself. I would like to think that some special time spent off the net is also important for you or me. In this time you could sing or dance or just sit with a book. In the mean-time it's nice to have met you because there is some quality time spent on the net. I hope you have had time to look at your favourite song or look up your favourite author. My favorite song is True Colour by Cyndi Lauper and my favourite author is Gretchin Rubin. I feel gratitude that I can write this Blog. I hope you come back and see what new Blog is here over time. In the mean time have a great day and stay you!

Posted on May 15, 2013, in Balance, Depression, anger and negativity, Happiness, Self Esteem and Positivity, mental health, mental illness, New Age Psychology, schizophrenia and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. With this write up I guess you had helped yourself and you gonna help others to open their eyes and heart for mentall illness people .Atleast you did it for me .Thank you !! Beautiful!1

Leave a Reply

Our Lady of the Red Thread

The Journal of Shiloh Sophia

Valley Road Rambler

life, love, loss, and a whole lotta soul

snowflakespirit

Just another WordPress.com site

Psychology Discussions

A topnotch WordPress.com site

