Dancing Poems

Poetry is like sunshine. © 2012 Kelly Babcock

Poetry is like sunshine.
© 2012 Kelly Babcock

To write a poem that helps people think through an issues is rewarding and motivating. To write a poem that helps people sense a touch of Heaven is also nice. To write poems that inspire others to write poems, now that is the first place ribbon.

Why do I write poetry?

The poetry I write has to do with issues that come to my awareness and that I am confused, passionate or discouraged about. By writing about it I get some thoughts onto paper and sort myself out. Emotions have a place in poems.  Metaphor is a skill that many people are still learning about. English class continues on in some people’s minds as they decipher what a poem can truly mean.

I love poetry. I really like the way it curves and swirls and comes back to the main point again. I really like the way new words can be used that depict such wonderful descriptions of things like nature. I also like the way a poem sort of has a rhythm to it even if it doesn’t rhyme. I just love poetry.

Ways of connecting while writing poetry

My mom and I used to write together. That can be fun.  It was nice to pick a title that the both of us wrote about. We found that we were able to have similarities and differences. People liked comparing our writing and we found something that connected us as mother and daughter, poet to poet. Writing poetry can be shared like that.

Poetry can lead to discussion about what is important to us. I love to talk to people about their favourite things and about the things that give meaning to their lives. I found myself in a team with a local singer where we went out and performed songs and poetry to people. It felt like a ministry and it was very fulfilling. It’s nice to hear people talk truthfully.

Other Good Outcomes From Poetry

Poetry can be funny for children and then they can feel good. It can teach children to do things like eat their vegetables. It can teach children new words and can give them a bit of a treat with words. Most of us can name a few rhymes or songs we heard as kids and for some of us they make us feel good even now.

I can write also to get a message across. There are things I want to say, and have a good chance of getting them heard in a poem. I want to tell people things like same-sex couples deserve love like others, or the environment still needs our help, or different ages of people could interact and work through some boundaries. Said out loud, it sounds a bit like a lesson, but said in a poem it sounds like I am sharing some of my honest and important thoughts to the reader.

Poetry is magical, whimsical and more. But why go on when I can simply share a poem with you. Enjoy!

What Life Can Become With Help From  A Little Tree

© 2013 Melanie Knapp

I’d like to introduce you to a friend!

His name is Poplar

Tall and skinny

He’s been here several years.

Learned the ropes from those around him.

He affects those that walk by him.

He just hopes more people stop to look.

My man poplar, the little tree reminds me of what life can do.

Vitality in this great wide world.

Change a frown into a smile

A depression into happiness

Makes you healthy in just a few weeks

if you keep walking by him.

My man poplar, the little tree reminds me of what life can do.

Vitality in the great wide world.

Change worry into relaxation-

Helps you to have the good feelings.

Changes your lethargy into action

Slow motion into fast motion.

My man poplar, the little tree reminds me of what life can do.

Vitality in the great wide world. Changes a tree into a friend.

About friendofsnowflake

It is my pleasure to welcome you to my Blog! My name is Melanie and my nic-name Snowflake as you may already know. I'm excited to share some of my ideas and writings with you. It's interesting how psychological concepts can make things a little clearer. I have a psychology degree from the University of Waterloo. It is my hope that I can share some knowledge with you. Some of my hobbies include playing piano, guitar, drawing and more recently beading. It also really interesting to recieve comments from the amazing people who read my Blog. I hope if you feel inclined that you will tell me a bit about yourself. I would like to think that some special time spent off the net is also important for you or me. In this time you could sing or dance or just sit with a book. In the mean-time it's nice to have met you because there is some quality time spent on the net. I hope you have had time to look at your favourite song or look up your favourite author. My favorite song is True Colour by Cyndi Lauper and my favourite author is Gretchin Rubin. I feel gratitude that I can write this Blog. I hope you come back and see what new Blog is here over time. In the mean time have a great day and stay you!

Posted on May 28, 2013, in Balance, Emotions, goal setting, Happiness, Self Esteem and Positivity, mental health, mental illness, New Age Psychology, Out there, schizophrenia, Seniors Mental Health, young people and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Our Lady of the Red Thread

The Journal of Shiloh Sophia

Valley Road Rambler

life, love, loss, and a whole lotta soul

snowflakespirit

Just another WordPress.com site

Psychology Discussions

A topnotch WordPress.com site

