Step After Step; Kindness After Kindness!

The greater self looks up.

Hey you people keep being kind to eachother!
© 2012 Kelly Babcock

Whether you have a mental illness or not, it boosts the immune system to hear nice things and to participate in small acts of kindness. These activities can make a day brighter, can help your self esteem and finally can bring out more positive energy. Kindness helps you to look on the bright side!

Acts of Kindness

I was walking home from the grocery store with a fellow I knew a little bit. He told me he was going my way and didn’t mind carrying my grocery bags. Well, to me those grocery bags were heavy, yes I didn’t mind him carrying them for part of the way. When we got to the part where I would turn he said he might as well carry them the rest of they way since he’d carried them this far. He gave me such a feeling of joy. It was neat that someone would care enough to help me out. I was smiling big for the rest of the day.

Another time I was in the coffee shop when a woman came up to me asking for eight dollars for a taxi. She was upset and I recognized her from my church. I told her that she looked familiar and gave her the money. She was so relieved. She really had to get somewhere in a hurry. This was my turn to help someone else.

Finally people will hold the door open for others. This is helpful for people with disabilities and simply just a nice gesture. I love holding the door open for seniors. I like treating seniors well.

People helping people

These are small gestures that have helped out. I am so glad the in my town this happens fairly regularly that people help each other out. It’s easy to ask for more when someone helps you or gives you money but I think that just enjoying what they do offer to give can be important.

People are able to do much more for each other than they think and it is wonderful when the ball starts rolling. I think that we have opportunities all the time to choose love. I read in a book the following, “What would love choose in this situation?” This is great advice in the midst of a busy day.

It really does matter

Today I helped a friend and I gave something to an acquaintance and tonight I am going to assist someone else. I don’t always get the chance to do all of this nor do I feel strong enough to do it, but today I did it and that counts for today! I feel good!

I hope you’ll think about doing something for someone else if you aren’t already. This is my little bit of encouragement. Sometimes that’s all we need is to share our kindness. Sometimes even a crisis can be calmed with a few simple nice words. Whether it’s making up with a friend, or baking someone cookies, it all matters. Thanks for being here to listen to this blog…. have a very nice day!

About friendofsnowflake

It is my pleasure to welcome you to my Blog! My name is Melanie and my nic-name Snowflake as you may already know. I'm excited to share some of my ideas and writings with you. It's interesting how psychological concepts can make things a little clearer. I have a psychology degree from the University of Waterloo. It is my hope that I can share some knowledge with you. Some of my hobbies include playing piano, guitar, drawing and more recently beading. It also really interesting to recieve comments from the amazing people who read my Blog. I hope if you feel inclined that you will tell me a bit about yourself. I would like to think that some special time spent off the net is also important for you or me. In this time you could sing or dance or just sit with a book. In the mean-time it's nice to have met you because there is some quality time spent on the net. I hope you have had time to look at your favourite song or look up your favourite author. My favorite song is True Colour by Cyndi Lauper and my favourite author is Gretchin Rubin. I feel gratitude that I can write this Blog. I hope you come back and see what new Blog is here over time. In the mean time have a great day and stay you!

Posted on July 1, 2013, in Balance, Depression, anger and negativity, friendship, Happiness, Self Esteem and Positivity, mental health, New Age Psychology, Seniors Mental Health, young people and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Our Lady of the Red Thread

The Journal of Shiloh Sophia

Valley Road Rambler

life, love, loss, and a whole lotta soul

snowflakespirit

Just another WordPress.com site

Psychology Discussions

A topnotch WordPress.com site

