Why did I write a book?

Let The Feelings Go.

May light and love bless you! © 2012 Kelly Babcock

Reading books has been a hobby of mine for most of my life. I’ve read a lot of self-help books especially. This may give you a hint of why I wanted to write my own book.

It all started back in 1999. I was hanging out with people who were interacting in spiritual ways where they were giving messages back and forth from a greater source of love and light. I was glad that they were kind messages and some of them were very insightful. 

How did I start with the first book?

I linked into my own message from a kind higher source. “Poetry with your mom would be very healing and satisfying.” Shortly after that I asked my mom if she wanted to write and publish a poetry book together. She was delighted to be asked and quickly agreed. We would choose a topic and each write on that topic. It was fun. It was exhilarating. It was a step into the future.

Why did we write that book? Over time the answers have come to me. We wanted other mothers and daughters to bond over it. We wanted to show that the mother/daughter connection is significant. We wanted to enhance our own relationship. We wanted to share our words with others. Finally, we wanted to create art and be involved in the artistic process with one another.

That first poetry book was really unique. On the front is a picture of Georgian Bay and other pictures in the book were created by a family friend. Organizing it together and placing each part where it was meant to be was great fun. We learned a lot in that first book and went on to do a second book in a similar way. Then I continued the journey by myself for a while with a third book. This was a sort of coming of age book where I wrote my own poetry for this original book.

Where did I go from there?

Finally, a month ago, I came out with my first self-help book. This book was written because I had suggestions to share and felt I could motivate others to grow and learn more about themselves. There was a need in our local hospital for literature on healing and since I had done the healing, I felt that I could write the book. Other people were kind enough to give their contributions to it. A lot of people commented on it, they thought it could help a lot of people.

I think the book gives a peer support perspective that has potential to touch people in ways that other resources wouldn’t be able to. It can be painful dealing with mental health issues. This is a little bit of goodness to shine a ray of hope onto those suffering.

What is the writing process?

Writing a book is interesting. For me, there is the enthusiasm of beginning a book. Starting a new project is exhilarating. Then there is the consistency which brings its own feeling of discipline and satisfaction. Finally finishing up always seems to me, with my book projects, to take so long. At some points it is like polishing a stone. It’s so fun to make the book shine.

I’ve started many books that haven’t been finished. Not a day goes by that I don’t think of one of those books and how gratifying it would be to finish it up and see it in print. But, as I said before finishing a book can take a lot of time and a great deal of commitment.

The highlights when writing for others

I am so pleased that some people have my books beside their beds and they read before they fall asleep. I am also happy that a young person has shared one of my poems with her class at highschool. Finally, I am satisfied that some of the things I really needed to share are out there. People can find them if they need to.  My work, perspectives and ideas are available to others. This is important to me.

Will I write another book? Probably I will, I’m gaining more confidence with this book writing. I can use different techniques and find new interesting styles for future books as I build on my experiences to create more book projects. I am glad that I have had the chance to contribute to people’s inner experiences through poetry and my recent self-help book. Thank you for your happy thoughts that contribute to my enjoyment of this writing journey. I enjoy writing and like to share it!

About friendofsnowflake

It is my pleasure to welcome you to my Blog! My name is Melanie and my nic-name Snowflake as you may already know. I'm excited to share some of my ideas and writings with you. It's interesting how psychological concepts can make things a little clearer. I have a psychology degree from the University of Waterloo. It is my hope that I can share some knowledge with you. Some of my hobbies include playing piano, guitar, drawing and more recently beading. It also really interesting to recieve comments from the amazing people who read my Blog. I hope if you feel inclined that you will tell me a bit about yourself. I would like to think that some special time spent off the net is also important for you or me. In this time you could sing or dance or just sit with a book. In the mean-time it's nice to have met you because there is some quality time spent on the net. I hope you have had time to look at your favourite song or look up your favourite author. My favorite song is True Colour by Cyndi Lauper and my favourite author is Gretchin Rubin. I feel gratitude that I can write this Blog. I hope you come back and see what new Blog is here over time. In the mean time have a great day and stay you!

Posted on August 12, 2013, in Balance, goal setting, Happiness, Self Esteem and Positivity, New Age Psychology, Out there, poetry, Relationships and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Hey very cool blog!! Guy.. Beautiful.. Wonderful.. I will bookmark your website and take the feeds additionallyKI am satisfied to search out numerous useful information right here in the publish, we want develop more techniques on this regard, thank you for sharing gebddadaegea

  2. John, Thanks for your works of support. I like writing but haven’t been doing this blog for a little while. I may come back to it when the time is right. Thanks again for taking the time to write and say you liked it. yours truly, Melanie Knapp

Leave a Reply

Our Lady of the Red Thread

The Journal of Shiloh Sophia

Valley Road Rambler

life, love, loss, and a whole lotta soul

snowflakespirit

Just another WordPress.com site

Psychology Discussions

A topnotch WordPress.com site

