Drawing on the Arts

Sometimes there is abundance at other times not.

Creative expression is fulfilling, peaceful and important to me.

Drawing is one of the many forms of creativity. We often start off when we are young drawing houses or stick people and then a lot of people don’t go too much further than that. Well some people pick it up again in their adult years. I did! Unique types of artistic expression

I was encouraged to draw when I was going through some struggles. I was asked to draw and learn from myself and the pictures that were developing as I drew. When I was really struggling I even bought a colouring book to colour pictures and use bright crayons to help me feel happier.

Another time I was asked to draw to let go of anger and anxiety. I drew a huge mouth screaming. That was a great way to meet that challenge. I was able to portray the emotion I needed to express in an acceptable way. Yes, as you can see drawing can have it’s benefits. Another type of drawing is one where the benefits are in the peace it instills. I’ve been doing this recently and what I’ve chosen to draw are animals. So far I’ve drawn a kangaroo, a rabbit, a bird, a puppy, a horse, a snail and more. These pictures helped me to notice how focused I can get. Then, art became not only an outlet but a talent or a skill. The teacher helped me with shading, lines, colours and patterns. I was learning new things and it was exciting.

My future in art

I wonder if I could put the two together. Express myself through art and use the skills I’ve been learning. I think this would make an interesting piece of art. Do you do any kind of art? I thought I could be an art therapist. Maybe one day I can. There are lots of secrets of the art teacher that I don’t know about. Nurturing art in people is a wonderful skill that is so rare that it is only seen when the moon is just so and the stars are shining fully. It’s great to meet someone who can help you with your art. For me it came along at the right time.

Friendship with art

Sharing the drawing experience with others is fulfilling especially when each person takes their art seriously. It can bring up some wonderful discussions and lead to some great insights. It is a very positive experience to see people care enough to draw a person, animal, sunset or tree. To further this it is nice to see them add a little here, erase a little there and receive guidance for some wonderful finishing touches. There are many special moments in art class. When I become confused and hurt, drawing a picture of faces in the moon helps me. The moon looks out for me and loves me in the art.  Once I drew a whole picture of flowers. Another time I drew shapes covering a whole page. Yet another time I drew the energy I sensed around me in swirls and circles and lines. There are many different ways of drawing. Sometimes I can draw really beautiful abstract pictures. At one point I put a picture in front of my television and continued to watch it each day for several minutes. It was peaceful, interesting and motivating all at the same time. It was shapes inside rolling hills inspired by an Emily Carr painting.

Learning from the great ones

Isn’t it neat to know some different artists and the style they portray in their art. It’s nice to be able to name the artist without seeing a signature. When it’s hard to get outside it’s nice to look at the art depicting nature in the area. We have an excellent area to paint, draw or doodle. It’s fun to see where imagination and real life meet. Often paintings and drawings will show us this. There is one picture of the Sarawak Princess that I like to look at that a local artist did. Well I just happen to be from Sarawak and I never thought of there being a princess there. Can you see how that struck my imagination in a joyous way.

Spirituality and art

Doing art will hopefully continue to be part of my journey. So far I’ve gone away and come back to it many times. It seems to motivate a part of me that isn’t as strong with ego. It seems to bring about qualities of a mythical nature. It helps me to believe in something bigger than myself. Do you have a piece of art that is your favourite? Hang onto it in your mind and remember it when times are difficult. It is possible that art can give us strength and courage! It is amazing to come back home to art.

About friendofsnowflake

It is my pleasure to welcome you to my Blog! My name is Melanie and my nic-name Snowflake as you may already know. I'm excited to share some of my ideas and writings with you. It's interesting how psychological concepts can make things a little clearer. I have a psychology degree from the University of Waterloo. It is my hope that I can share some knowledge with you. Some of my hobbies include playing piano, guitar, drawing and more recently beading. It also really interesting to recieve comments from the amazing people who read my Blog. I hope if you feel inclined that you will tell me a bit about yourself. I would like to think that some special time spent off the net is also important for you or me. In this time you could sing or dance or just sit with a book. In the mean-time it's nice to have met you because there is some quality time spent on the net. I hope you have had time to look at your favourite song or look up your favourite author. My favorite song is True Colour by Cyndi Lauper and my favourite author is Gretchin Rubin. I feel gratitude that I can write this Blog. I hope you come back and see what new Blog is here over time. In the mean time have a great day and stay you!

Posted on August 19, 2013, in Balance, Depression, anger and negativity, Emotions, friendship, New Age Psychology, schizophrenia, Seniors Mental Health, Social Psychology Education, young people and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Our Lady of the Red Thread

The Journal of Shiloh Sophia

Valley Road Rambler

life, love, loss, and a whole lotta soul

snowflakespirit

Just another WordPress.com site

Psychology Discussions

A topnotch WordPress.com site

